Irish Car of the Year

IMWA members vote annually in the Irish Car of the Year Awards. We use our professional judgement and experience to award the best new cars introduced to the Irish market during the eligible period.

The aim of these Awards is to signpost the best new cars to guide the Irish consumer in their research and purchase of a new car.



A separate specialist jury votes for Irish Van of the Year.

Irish Car of the Year and Irish Van of the Year have been sponsored by Continental, the tyres and automotive technology multinational company, since 2010.

A list of Irish Car of the Year historic winners:

2020 Kia e-Soul

2019 Volvo XC40

2018 Peugeot 3008

2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

2016 Ford Mondeo

2015 Nissan Qashqai

2014 Citroen C4 Picasso

2013 BMW 3-Series

2012 Kia Rio

2011 Nissan Juke

2010 Peugeot 3008

2009 Citroen C5

2008 Ford Mondeo

2007 Honda Civic

2006 Suzuki Swift

2005 Ford Focus

2004 Toyota Avensis

2003 Mazda6

2002 Renault Laguna

2001 Opel Corsa

2000 Toyota Yaris

1999 Ford Focus

1998 Citroën Xsara

1997 Peugeot 406

1996 Volkswagen Polo

1995 Opel Omega

1994 Ford Mondeo

1993 Toyota Carina E

1992 Opel Astra

1991 Fiat Tempra

1990 Renault 19

1989 Fiat Tipo

1988 Toyota Corolla

1987 Fiat Croma

1986 Ford Granada

1985 Opel Kadett

1984 Fiat Uno

1983 Ford Sierra

1982 Ford Escort

1981 Datsun Stanza

1980 Fiat Ritmo

1979 Volkswagen Derby

1978 Volkswagen Golf (Diesel)